August 14-16 2012

Workshop Agenda

Tuesday, August 14, 2012

07:30am - 08:30am


08:30am - 10:00am

Opening Ceremonies

Welcome Address:
- Metro St. Louis CEO John M. Nations

Keynote Address:
- FRA Administrator Joseph C. Szabo
- FTA Deputy Regional Administrator William Kalt

General Address:
- FRA Ronald Ries
- FTA Levern McElveen - Trespassing Issues that Face the Nation

10:00am - 10:15am

Morning Break

10:15am - 11:45pm

Session 1 - Pedestrian Safety Issues

Session Moderator: W.P. Grizard, APTA

- Ron Nickle, MBTA, A System Safety Approach to G.C. Mgt. Planning for Pedestrians
- James Simpson, NJDOT, New Jersey Safety Along Railroads Actions
- Carolyn Cook, FRA, Pedestrian Safety at Passenger Stations

12:00pm - 01:00pm

Lunch Break

01:00pm - 02:30pm

Session 2 - Hazard Management

Session Moderator: Levern McElveen / Frank Frey

- Darren Gilbert, CPUC Contractor, Regulator Approach: 49 CFR 659

- Marco DaSilva, Volpe, FRA Funded Research: Florida DOT and Tri-Rail Study
- James Fox, SEPTA, Hazard Management Experiences: SEPTA
Richard A. Ferlauto, LIRR, LIRR Experiences: High Fences Risk Analysis and Methodology

02:30pm - 03:00pm

Afternoon Break

03:00pm - 04:30pm

Topic Area 3 - Design, Technology and Infrastructure

Session Moderator: Debra Chappell / Frank Frey

- Don Sepulveda, L.A.Cty Metropolitan Transportation Authority, San Clemente Trail
- Harry Saporta, TriMet, Design Features to Mitigate Trespassing
- Brent Ogden, AECOM/Institute of Transportation Engineers, TBD,
- Peggy Lyda, Union Pacific Railroad, Fresno Trespass Campaign

04:30pm - 04:45pm

Adjournment: FRA Ronald Ries & FTA Levern McElveen

Wednesday, August 15, 2012

08:00am - 08:30am


08:15am - 08:30am

- FRA Ronald Ries & FTA Levern McElveen

08:30am - 10:00am

Session 4 - Community Outreach

Moderator: Dale Bray, UPRR

- Jay Holman /John Simpson, UPRR, Community Coalition Focus Plans
- Lou Frangella, FRA, Successful Community Outreach Programs
- Bill Barringer, NS RR, Train Your Brain-NS Safety Campaign
- Richard Washington, FRA, National Trespass Programs

10:00am - 10:15am

Morning Break

10:15pm - 12:00pm

Session 5 - Enforcement

Moderator: Ryan Gustin, CSX Community Affairs and Safety

- Shel Senek, Ohio OL, Trespass Enforcement and Incident Program
-Phillip Arnold, Amtrak Police, Passenger Rail Trespassing Concerns-Insight from Amtrak Police
- Bryan Madden, BNSF & Rick Deichmann, NS Police, Citizens for Rail Security/Protect the Line
- Thomas Farmer, Association of American Railroads, AAR’s intelligence/security initiatives & National Trespasser Database

12:00pm - 01:00pm

Lunch Break

01:00pm - 02:30pm

Session 6 - Intentional Deaths/Acts

Moderator: Charlie Hagood, FRA

- Mark Buchanan, Caltrain, Redblock Program
- Scott Gabree, Volpe, Nationwide Date Base to Track Trespass & Suicides
- Mike Martino, AAR, Countermeasures to Reduce Suicides on Railroad Rights of Way
- Louis Brown, Washington Metro, Suicide Prevention Program

01:00pm - 02:30pm

Afternoon Break

02:30pm - 02:45pm

Organization of Working Groups/Introduction of Teams

03:00pm - 05:00pm

Working Group Breakouts


Adjournment/Team Leads Report Out

Thursday, August 16, 2012

08:00am - 08:15am

General Address: FRA Ronald Ries & FTA Levern McElveen

08:15am - 10:15am

Working Group Summaries of Top Research Needs

10:15am - 11:00am

Final Thoughts and Workshop Closeout


Logo for the Department of Transportation


Brought to you by the Federal Railroad Administation & Federal Transit Administration


1200 New Jersey Avenue SE
Washington, DC 20590